Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Family Photos

I was thinking about making a post that tied in with the Boston fetish flea, but a self indulgent post about being in exile didn’t sound very interesting, luckily this came along…

I live in a country with pretty strict government censorship, so when friends send me music, movies, or even photos I tell them to burn what they are sending to unmarked CDs and label them “Family Photos” or something similar.  This morning (last night in Boston) some friends of mine were having a post Fetish Flea party, and they were kind enough to call me during it.  You see I left the US about a week before a kink event and among some of my friends it is kind of a tradition to call and pass the phone around during parties.  Anyway, one of my friends was telling me that they took some pictures at the play party and would send them to me.  “We’ll call them family photos,” she said.

It struck me as really sweet, because you know what?  Those are my family photos.  The people I play with are part of my family.  My lovers, and former lovers are my family.  The friend who tells me I am fucking nuts as she is writing “safe-call, 10pm” on a sticky note, and then still unlocks the door for me when I get home at 4am covered in cuts and with the biggest fucking grin on my face is part of my family.

So anyway I love you all and I hope you had a lovely time at the Fetish Flea.

And as a side note, the Boston Fetish Flea was the first public BDSM event I attended in America; it was on my 18th Birthday.  Also, I realized yesterday that it has been more than 5 years since the first time I mustered up the courage to go to a BDSM club (yes I was scared — it was about as intimidating as anything sexual in Amsterdam could have possibly been).  Somehow, I still feel like a newbie.

Written by kinkinexile

August 19, 2007 at 9:32 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s a very small world, you know. At the flea, I met a woman who looked at me, cocked her head to one side, and asked, “Do you blog?”

    Startled, I said very slowly, “Yes….”

    She continued pressing, “Maybe Maimed?”

    “Yes,” I said again and just as slowly. “How did you know?”

    “I am good friends with the woman who writes as Kink in Exile,” she told me. And then the next day the group of us met for coffee at Pete’s in Harvard Square. I rather missed you this weekend.

    maymay

    August 20, 2007 at 8:31 pm

  2. Oh that totally rocks my little red wagon. Who was it?

    kinkinexile

    August 21, 2007 at 2:49 am


Comments are closed.

