Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

A review and a question

I just got back from a Wet Spots show. I’m in love. I’m in love with this Canadian, bisexual, kinky musical duo, but I’m in love with San Francisco in general. There is something about sitting on my roof drinking chai and watching fog come in from all four directions while there is a spot of bright blue sky directly over my house that makes me think I’m doing the right thing with my life. But the show was excellent. A great mix of vaudeville, kink, speakeasy, and Canadian charm. Check them out, especially their kinky neighbors song.

And now question time:
How do you use titles in a scene if at all?  I’ve been thinking about this for a while, and I’d like to see what y’all have to say.

Written by kinkinexile

March 22, 2008 at 7:19 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How do you use titles in a scene if at all? I’ve been thinking about this for a while, and I’d like to see what y’all have to say.

    Just personally, I find titles essential in a scene.

    To the point where I am able to tell those playing with me, that using my real name is effective as a safeword, especially if there’s a roleplay element to a scene (which in my case can get pretty involved). I think it’s just that I associate having someone call my name, as suggesting that my attention is needed, and that often implies “time-out” required. But it does present as an issue in a scene if every time a partner addresses me, it causes me to stop what I’m doing! So titles are to some extent a way of avoiding that. I find it also helps to instil a sexy D/s mindset to use titles (for both top and bottom).

    With roleplay scenes, of course, then using a title is another part of how we set the scene – e.g. “doctor” (medical scenes), “sir” (schoolroom scenes), “my lord” (for serving girl/aristocrat type scenes), etc. (since I also do the latter two of those in a female persona, I also get called “ma’am”, “miss” or “your Ladyship”).

    SnowdropExplodes

    March 23, 2008 at 1:50 am

  2. Glad you’re feeling good.

    Titles? I have little to give you on that one, but I imagine if I were hanging out with a play partner it would be a good way to signal that they wanted to start something. It may eventually become a way to trigger a response.

    axe

    March 23, 2008 at 10:38 pm


Comments are closed.

