Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Women are superior to men

Bullshit.

This is a sentiment that flowed through many of the emails I got in response to my houseboy search, and it made me cringe every time. Sexism does not magically become acceptable when it puts women in power. Furthermore, describing one group of people as fundamentally superior to another for the purposes of one individual’s sexual or emotional gratification plays into a history of oppression I would prefer to leave outside my bedroom.

This is the kind of thinking that has aided in the oppression of women and minorities, and fueled genocide, apartheid, and ethnic cleansing. On a more personal level it disregards the experiences of submissive women and switches, and puts an undo pressure on dominant women.

A naked man kneeling in front of me waiting to do my bidding is a hot fantasy. Being able to buy one at a slave auction is a hot fantasy. There is a difference, however, between fantasies of slavery and reality and I have this nagging fear that some of the people who responded to me are not aware of that. We have tried slavery, and we as a society have decided against it over a hundred years ago.

And as an aside, the last man who said “I’ll do anything, mistress” was relieved of his pants and sent down the block to fetch coffee. You might want to consider the range of anything before saying something of the sort.

Written by kinkinexile

April 11, 2008 at 4:52 am

Posted in headspace, personal, topping

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And as an aside, the last man who said “I’ll do anything, mistress” was relieved of his pants and sent down the block to fetch coffee. You might want to consider the range of anything before saying something of the sort.

    This is why we love you.

    Beowabbit

    April 11, 2008 at 6:14 pm

  2. Sexism does not magically become acceptable when it puts women in power.

    Indeed.

    alterisego

    April 12, 2008 at 5:08 am

  3. I recall a passage from Shulamith Firestone’s “Dialectic of Sex” explaining how, even in the earliest women-worshipping cultures, women were not free. Being placed on a pedestal and worshipped is just as much a denial of one’s freedom as is being a chattel; and the “women are naturally superior” philosophy is a modern-day example of that phenomenon. Sort of, “you are better than me, therefore it is your DUTY to command me!”

    SnowdropExplodes

    April 12, 2008 at 11:28 pm

  4. The “I’ll do anything you wish” mentality comes from a feeling of desperation I think. Sure they’re not thinking realistically but in that moment, when they say it, they’re probably feeling that it’s true….until you ask them for something they don’t want to do hehe.

    Women are better than men by the way. Women have all the vaginas.

    unspeakableaxe

    April 14, 2008 at 3:29 am

  5. That’s why I like asking them “what inspires you to submit”, and “what does service submission mean to you”? It then gives me an idea if they want to submit to me, personally, or to an idealized version of their fantasy.

    I actually quite enjoy being told I can do anything I wish, as it usually means tying them outside while I read a book. ::laughs::

    Kitty

    April 15, 2008 at 11:44 am

  6. Well said.

    BBW Switch

    April 21, 2008 at 6:20 pm


Comments are closed.

