Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Reverse culture shock

I broke a nail taking my computer out of its bag, which made me think of the good old days before my nails were brittle. Before I lost 15% of my body weight in a month, and before I learned to ignore all instances of food poisoning not accompanied by fever. Those same good old days before my arm was peppered with little white scars from all the things that populate my WHO card – Japanese Encephalitis, Yellow Fever, Hep A. Those days before I realized that shampoo is a luxury item, or tried to shave my legs in an outhouse.

Four months later and I am still in culture shock. Initial culture shock, initial adjustment, secondary culture shock, final adjustment. Final adjustment can take up to a year, and this is not an unfamiliar process. Palo Alto makes me uncomfortable not because of its wealth but because if its lack of perspective. America makes me uncomfortable for the same reason – it’s so easy not to know.

Written by kinkinexile

April 15, 2008 at 4:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m often in awe of the ignorance, (genuine or even by choice), of the people i encounter on a daily basis.

    Excuse me while I blissfully get through my day.

    Eddie

    April 15, 2008 at 3:13 pm

  2. “before I learned to ignore all instances of food poisoning not accompanied by fever

    This was something i learned really quickly in Russia, but the biggest difference is that in the United States i find myself feeling frustrated and impatient with things like BART and MUNI because I somehow feel I am entitled to service that runs on time.

    The nice thing out of Russia was that I understood that my own desires and expectations were insignificant and you could just get over it and let it all wash over you.

    -Your local friendly bookseller

    Shelley

    April 28, 2008 at 6:56 pm


Comments are closed.

