Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Pride

with 2 comments

I went to my first San Francisco pride last weekend. It was huge and corporate. Miller light had the cutest boys; no beer bellies on that float. I marched with the bisexual contingent, and for the first time wondered why we still do this. There were so many families. Kids in rainbow outfits holding balloons. It was so wholesome I wondered if I hadn’t taken a wrong turn at Albuquerque. It was good in a lot of ways too. Good to see so many people so excited; good to know that the gay dollar is strong enough to make corporate giants dust off their rainbow flags; and good to spend time with people I love. And it was good to see, for the first time, a gathering of radical faeries. I spotted them late in the day and I was glad I spotted them at all. This is what it’s about for me — the transcendence, the trespassing, the radical sex and the outrageous notion that pleasure is valuable and valid.

Written by kinkinexile

July 1, 2008 at 3:10 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG. I am so missing America’s sex capitols right now….

    maymay

    July 1, 2008 at 3:40 pm

  2. Man oh Man. I used to ask myself that too, “why do we still do this”…

    I think, in part, because of places like here in Poland, where such a thing is unheard of. Slowly the Tolerance March becomes a little more accepted, then a bit more.. someday Polish queers will hopefully have their own moment of asking “why do we still do this?”

    Til then, it’s important that SF and London and other places show off their colors. It spreads hope elsewhere, even if we’re a little jaded.

    Kitty

    July 21, 2008 at 11:43 pm


Leave a Reply

