Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

memories

I love the human brain. I love the little tricks it plays like linking smell to time and place.

This morning I woke up at 7, and gobbled some yogurt on the way to the gym. Got home and prepped for a photo shoot. I made my first cup of coffee, freshly ground and then walked to Madam S clutching an MIT mug. I got there as they were opening and picked up some fishnets for the shoot. I was nearly out of coffee by the time I got home and I had already taken apart the grinder for cleaning, so I figured I’d cheat. I dug out a bag of ground from the back of the fridge — Kona with macadamia nut.

That’s when my brain switched to that weekend in Hawaii a lover treated me to last September. The breakfast of papaya and Kona coffee eaten in a treehouse while watching the island come alive. The long weekend spent in a bikini, giving up on getting the sand off. The receptionist mistakingly calling me Mrs. B*** and my cheerfully informing a honeymooner that no, actually, we’re celebrating my divorce. And of course, all that mischief we got up to.

And now I’m wondering at all the ways in which the human brain can be exploited for play. Not just tapping into socially constructed symbolism, but taking lessons from cognitive behavioral therapy, and nero-linguistics programming. Sooo many possibilities, if only I had a spare brain to play with.

Written by kinkinexile

December 30, 2008 at 12:58 pm

Posted in headspace, personal

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think “smell domination” is really powerful, evocative, and intense. Recently, I was assigned the task of finding a new fragrance for my close friend and domme. She lives far away but was soon to visit. Finding scent that captures a person is very challenging. Alas, though I had big time OCD fun trying, I failed miserably and the hunt continues.

    Scent is such a powerful associator.

    I thought your story was really evocative and got at the essence of olfactory power.

    advochasty

    December 31, 2008 at 1:58 pm


Comments are closed.

