Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Toy review — Bwarm soy candle

I’ve been getting a lot of massages recently, but it’s all for science I assure you! I recently tested the Bwarm soy massage candle. For those unfamiliar with soy wax, it has a much lower melting point than paraffin making it ideal for some light sensation play that steers clear of pain play. Soy candles are also frequently marketed as massage candles, which is to say that you can use the melted soy wax as a massage oil. I’m not sure if this is a natural property of soy wax or if it requires the addition of other oils. My assumption is that soy wax solidifies at a temperature much lower than body temperature, but if anyone knows for sure, please leave me a note.

In any case, this candle melts into a soft massage oil that can be poured directly on the skin from the flexible and stylish holder. The candle I got was amber scented and it also comes in fig wood, rose, and patchouli. I can’t speak for the others but I found the amber scent pleasant. Somewhat strong, but not overpowering. My massage buddy thought the smell was a little strong but said he really liked it on my skin after the massage. It’s hard to smell things on myself so I will rely on his expertise in this area.

I really liked this candle. The melted wax was warm on my skin, smooth and long-lasting without being greasy. I love the idea of a massage oil you don’t have to worry about warming up too. The heat feels luxurious and decadent; just hot enough to make you take note, not hot enough to burn.

You can find the Bwarm Amber Candle along with other lubes and lotions on the sex toys site.

Oh, and if you’re thinking “but wait a minute, you said never to use scented candles for wax play and now you’re doing just that!” you’re absolutely right. Well kind of — most scented, colored, and emergency (long-lasting) candles have additives that raise their burn temperature well above slightly painful in a kinky kind of way. Those products can cause serious burns and you shouldn’t use them. Soy wax candles, however, have a much lower burning temp than normal candles. They are made specifically for use on humans so they are safe even though they’re scented. This is actually the perfect introduction to sensation play in my opinion. Try it out, but as always, try it on yourself before you try it on your bottom, and remember — safety third!

Written by kinkinexile

February 1, 2009 at 12:03 am

Posted in product review

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would say you are right about the body temperature idea, that the wax solidifies at a temp cooler than body temp. Even if you put your fingers into most of these candles you can start melting them with your body heat into a creamy wax, and use it for massage. Some of them seem to have additional ingredients, that may make the wax smoother or stay liquid longer for massage. But, many, it is just the soy wax.

    dominadoll

    February 3, 2009 at 8:07 am


Comments are closed.

