Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Toy review: Lelo Ella

leave a comment »

My first response to this was, “wait, what? Ergonomic dildo?” And it is! It’s a g-spot dildo that actually takes into account the curvature of your body.

I tried the Lelo Ella alone last week, and it was the most spot on g-spot toy I’ve ever tried. The spread out, blunt head means it has the surface area needed to massage your g-spot and the curvature of the toy lets it reach just right. I know, it seems kind of strange at first glance, but you know how some of those g-spot toys you’ve tried before have a tapered head so they keep almost getting your g-spot, but missing just a bit until you’re not sure if you really have a g-spot? Right, that doesn’t happen with the Ella! The Ella actually makes it really easy to find your g-spot without getting too acrobatic even!

Unfortunately, the Ella wasn’t perfect. Because the toy doesn’t vibrate or provide some other kind of movement I had to keep thrusting to get the stimulation I wanted. I know, how lazy can I possibly be, right? But as I got closer to orgasm it got harder and harder to keep up some kind of coordinated motion. A girl gets distracted you know! The Ella’s instructions suggest using it with a clitoral vibrator to maximize stimulation, which I have to say is one of the best ideas ever since the Ella transfers vibration right down to it’s nice wide ergonomic g-spot end. So it’s not a huge problem, but it is an extra step.

Of course I had to be thorough so I tried it with a friend too! (I had to see if it’s more fun when you don’t have to remember to keep thrusting.) It was a little confusing for both of us when we started because we had a hard time finding the rhythm, but in the end Ironrose seemed to get the idea…I’ll admit, however, that after playing with the Ella for a while we decided to get a bit more,uh, hands on.

And like all Lelo toys, the Ella comes in a wonderfully slick and sexy black box. I don’t know what it is with me and sex toy packaging, but the nice packaging to me conveys the manufactures care and attention to detail, and aren’t those qualities important for something that you’re using for sex?

Short story — very well designed toy, and a great lead-in to more serious g-spot play, but it’s better with a vibrator.

You can check out the Lelo Ella on the Sex Toys site. You can also take a look at all the luxury sex toys.

Written by kinkinexile

February 7, 2009 at 10:58 pm

Leave a Reply

