Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Yogi in the dungeon?

Last night I played in my yoga clothes. I didn’t plan to. I didn’t plan to play really…I planned on a quiet mellow evening. We ordered Chinese and while we waited for the delivery I wanted to get the kink out of my hip flexors (no pun intended). I changed into yoga pants and stayed in them through the evening. Of course one thing led to another and shortly after dinner I was relishing the sight of a man on his knees on my concrete bedroom floor. And I was, naturally, still in my yoga clothes.

On some level I find this absurd. I found it especially absurd when he called me mistress — a title I last used while pro-domming, and so one I associate with a certain look. A look, I’m sure you understand, that does not include stretchy pants and a tanktop. On the other hand, I have better scenes when I’m comfortable, and it’s hard to get comfortable in a corset and 6″ heels.  The trappings of BDSM are really interesting though.  They setup a context, almost like a bounding box.  They, theoretically, get us in the mood, and help set the scene — we didn’t need the help it seems.

Later my partner suggested a yoga-wear themed play party. I think that’s an awesome idea not only because it will be comfortable, but because it inspires me to take more lessons from my yoga practice into the bedroom.  Besides which, it’s totally worth while for the mindfuck.

Written by kinkinexile

February 9, 2009 at 12:02 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I so grok that. I honestly don’t find the trappings of kink to be sexy, at least not when I’m wearing them. I’m more comfortable in one of my night gowns, or my jeans, or nothing.

    And I hate wearing fetish wear. I’m having issue with a party I’d really like to go to because of their ‘no blue jeans’ policy. I asked about it (since they specifically said ‘no men’ in blue jeans) and they said they were ‘sure I could find something else to wear’.

    Of course I *can*. But why should I, when I want to feel sexy and play?

    So, I would so go to a yoga themed play party.

    Wendy Blackheart

    February 9, 2009 at 1:11 am

  2. Oh I hate dress codes for play parties. What if I want to pay tribute to 1950s gay male iconography — jeans and a chest harness. Or what if I just plain feel sexiest in jeans and a tanktop? (And I do.) What if I want to show up, beat the hell out of someone, kick their legs out from under them, and not worry about my own balance? Corsets don’t go well with the paramilitary scenes I’ve been doing lately either.

    This makes me sad that I don’t have the right contacts on the west coast to throw a play party, although…

    admin

    February 9, 2009 at 9:32 am

  3. EXACTLY! I can barely WALK in heals and a corset, let alone do anything fun in them. I’d much rather wear my boots, jeans, and a nice shirt, be ready for anything, and feel comfortable and sexy.
    Bah. I might just wear my boots and jeans. And if they turn me away after I go all the way to Avenue B….I will yell at things.

    I’m sure you’d be able to set up a party. Hell, have your friends over and paly at your place. The world needs kink in yoga pants.

    Wendy Blackheart

    February 9, 2009 at 11:11 am

  4. I’m sure you’d be able to set up a party. Hell, have your friends over and paly at your place. The world needs kink in yoga pants.

    Actually I was just thinking that…after all why live in an industrial conversion if you’re not going to throw warehouse parties?!

    admin

    February 9, 2009 at 11:28 am

  5. The sexiest I’ve ever felt was in my biking gear: black razorback sports bra, olive cargo shorts, bike gloves, and a messenger bag. I’m kind of inspired to go to a party in that now but I think it would totally be out of place. 😦

    I totally would go to a yoga kink party! I would end my scenes in prayer position and say “namaste”. 😉

    Jade

    February 9, 2009 at 9:28 pm

  6. What’s wrong with jeans…? I would rather kiss ass wrapped in old worn out jeans than latex. That will kep me on my knees for as long as needed. Love the feeling, the view, the smell… Goddess in old jeans, biker’s boot, let me build the pedestal… and worship

    creative pleaser

    February 10, 2009 at 10:43 am

  7. I, of course, am also all for this plan. Seeing someone comfortable and able to strut their stuff freely and easily is hot. Plus, yoga clothes tend to be tactile, and transfer sensation really well. 🙂

    I love Jade’s suggestion of “namaste”, as that reflects a lot of what I think play is capable of. BTW Jade, if you get a partner in crime (like a cop, an upset motorist, or just another bike messenger) I bet you could totally pull that off at a party.

    The iconography of kink is powerful, and I think playing with that iconography can be hot! However, I don’t think it is necessary for hot play, and as some have observed, can be limiting.

    Hell, if I didn’t want to limit myself to vanilla sex, why would I want to limit myself only to high-fetishwear kink?

    censorydep

    February 11, 2009 at 1:32 am

  8. Ooh, now that would be an interesting party to attend! I do love my fetish clothes – corsets and heels do make me feel sexy, but at the same time…comfy clothes do make for more fun and flexibility…

    Thursday's Child

    February 12, 2009 at 6:53 pm

  9. I never started wearing other things than the same old fetish gear until I saw Simon Blaise aka the King of Kink show up to a play party in a tuxedo and have this amazing scene with his girls that I still *think* about to this day when I am alone. If it takes kinksters like him to pave the way for the rest of us to break the norm and be kinky, then so be it!!! But we should probably try and follow his lead and just be ourselves.

    Samantha

    April 2, 2010 at 4:44 pm


Comments are closed.

