Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

The love conquers all narrative

with 4 comments

I recently watched Funny Face with someone I just started seeing. I hadn’t seen this movie in years, possibly not since early in my undergraduate career so re-watching it with an eye toward understanding cultural narratives was, well, eye opening.

Here is how true love works according to this classic of American cinema:
1) violently invade the life of a woman
2) coerce her into doing your bidding
3) insult her intelligence and demonstrate a blatant disinterest in things she holds dear
4) insult and attempt to chase off other males she is interested in
5) wait until she reaches a moment of realization in which she discovers
a) that she loves you
b) that other men are predators and you were trying to protect her all along

Compare this to other classics, modern cinema, or even children’s movies (think Beauty and the Beast as domestic violence case study). Is it any wonder we are confused about what roles to play in relationships or why there is such a fine line between romance and stalking?

Written by kinkinexile

March 3, 2009 at 1:53 pm

Posted in headspace

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Since you mention “Beauty and the Beast”, have you seen:

    http://basicinstructions.net/?p=842

    SnowdropExplodes

    March 3, 2009 at 4:45 pm

  2. Thank you Snowdrop, I have seen that before and it rocks. I should mention that I actually really like Funny Face, it’s just one of those things.

    admin

    March 3, 2009 at 6:27 pm

  3. Yes, 100x yes. This has always bothered me.

    Jade

    March 3, 2009 at 7:42 pm

  4. I hate the over analyzation of fairy tales. I know the argument that they teach to be children violent, sexist, racist, etc, etc, but I think that’s more bullshit than anything else. I grew up not just on Disney but on the stories of Brothers Grimm, Astrid Lindgren, and a variety of beloved Soviet cartoons. And I think kids reading Feminist Cinderella are sad.

    Renata

    March 4, 2009 at 9:25 pm


Leave a Reply

