Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Product review — Bondage belt

with 2 comments

Ever wanted to surprise a partner with something kinky? Or take some shared secret you know would drive him or her crazy with you to lunch? The bondage belt I just got from Sextoy.com is just that. It’s a thick leather belt with strategically placed metal rings, well metal squares actually. You can loop the belt through itself to create a pair of quick and dirty handcuffs. The internets seem to think that this is a cowboy innovation from the wild west, but I have a hard time picturing a herd of cattle in black leather bondage.

In any case, I wore this belt for the first time when I was planning to use it, and my partner in crime recognized the style right away, however, to the untrained eye it looks like a normal if somewhat butch belt. I’ve worn it as a belt to hold my pants up, and no one seemed to know the difference. And as a bondage device, it served it’s purpose. It is pretty easy to convert from belt to handcuffs, adjusts well to various wrist sizes and you get the benefit of that swoosh of leather through belt loops, which I love hearing. The major perk of a bondage belt over other restraints however, is that when you’re not using it for bondage you can use it to hit people with. The bondage belt is made of a nice thick leather, which makes a great snapping noise when it hits skin and the pointy belt tip leaves nice triangular welts.

I really like the portability and “pervertible” factor of this toy. Though one thing I will warn you about is that the metal rings make it wider than the average belt so if you’re wearing girly skinny jeans it might be too big for your belt loops. It worked for most of my pants though, so I still like it.

You can find the Bondage Belt on the sextoys page, or feel free to look at the whole collection of BDSM and fetish items.

Written by kinkinexile

March 14, 2009 at 10:05 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi K!

    I Googled around a bit to see if I could get a better view of the belt (the photos on the sextoy.com page weren’t that clear.)

    Anyway I had a moment of excitement when I saw they were advertised in sizes small through X-large… but then I realized they meant length instead of width.

    Funny thing, just yesterday I was across town and had an hour to kill so I went into what I’m pretty sure is the only commercial/wholesale leather supply shop in town. And totally fell all over myself. Years ago I went through a classic, hard-core apprenticeship program and became a journeyman leather worker. I was mostly looking to see what it would take to replace my now long-lost snake belt — a buckle-less taper that you fasten by tying into a sort of celtic knot. But while I was there I kept thinking y’know, I wonder if there’d possibly be a market for custom/hand-made kinkware along the lines of… a bondage/cuff belt.

    I’m not sure I’d actually go there but it was cool being able to go into a shop and realize that, even decades later, I still knew almost all the tools and what to do with the materials and supplies.

    Anyway, long story short being that while it probably wouldn’t actually be me making it there’s no reason a bondage cuff belt like yours couldn’t be made narrow enough for regular pants. Or available in colors other than overused-cliche black.

    Hmm…

    figleaf

    figleaf

    March 15, 2009 at 11:58 am

  2. Update: Hi KIE. I found a local shop that sells the Bondage Belt. You’re right it’s very cool, an elegant and surprisingly subtle design. I mentioned to the owner that you thought yours was too wide and she surprised me by saying she’d mention it to the person who makes them… who also turns out to be a local. She said if you wanted a narrower version you could probably request one.

    figleaf

    figleaf

    March 23, 2009 at 12:06 am


Leave a Reply

