Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

On web design

Has anyone else noticed that the makers of BDSM toys have abysmal websites? I mean high contrast graphical backgrounds, frames that don’t load clearly or resize well, animated gifs? Good lord I made websites better than this in ’98 and that seems to be the last time they updated too!

I don’t get it. I especially don’t get it in light of how many kinky geeks I know. I’m wondering if I can barter graphic design and web work for sex toys, or should we be above good interface design cause kink is more important?

In other news I was at Mr. S for an art opening last night, and happened to ask about rattan canes since I’m in the market. Turns out they no longer sell unfinished rattan ’cause it’s porous and they would like to protect people from themselves. Um, ok. So yes, you should in fact be careful when using unfinished rattan because it is in fact porous and as such can cross contaminate. This is why I wanted one specifically for the person I’m planning to use it on — except they will sell me things with which to mummify people and limit their oxygen supply but not raw rattan. Very good, but where do I get rattan?

If you’re about to say the internet, I tried. I looked through a few websites that were so disorganized and slow to load I didn’t stick around long enough to figure out if they could help me. So, in San Francisco, where do I get a good old fashioned unfinished rattan cane. With a normal dipped handle is fine.

Written by kinkinexile

April 4, 2009 at 6:58 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not sure about San Francisco, but I found some on Stockroom:

    Black handle: $39
    Suede handle: $22/$25
    Crook handle: $19

    The site loaded okay and quickly for me.

    ironrose

    April 4, 2009 at 7:06 am

  2. You’ve seen my rather scathing post about this same issue, yes?

    maymay

    April 5, 2009 at 10:54 pm

  3. Try the Frugal Domme (online, but located in the East Bay). Although I confess I’ve never ordered there, Domina is the queen of canes in this area. She often does caning demos (I saw one at the Citadel). I didn’t see any unvarnished ones in my quick browse of the website, but I suspect you could ask for one specially made.

    Sadiste

    April 23, 2009 at 10:40 pm


Comments are closed.

