Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Before there were backups

What happens to the data you didn’t think worth saving?
Where did all those things we did in the 80s go?
I’m pretty sure that the first website I ever made for pay was in 1999. I don’t have the backup, but more importantly I don’t have backups of all the goth-turned-kink things I did before then, and I can’t help but wonder where it all went. Where did the data go when hotlips and then velvet.net went down? I actually once picked up a guy at a party because I had an @velvet address and he knew the owner. I wonder if three years of good sex makes up for the loss of all that angsty poetry.

Written by kinkinexile

November 13, 2009 at 10:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The cultural anthropologists at the Wayback Machine are taking care of you: http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://velvet.net

    Stephen

    December 24, 2009 at 12:42 am

  2. Stephen, thank you, I have just discovered that I met someone I thought I just met a couple of years ago much much earlier through the Boston geek crowd. Because there are really only 7 people and a dog in the world.

    admin

    January 8, 2010 at 12:37 pm


Comments are closed.

