Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Sexy gifts?

I review a lot of sex toys, and one of the things I look for in my reviews, especially this time of year, is giftability. But can you really give a sex toy as a gift? Opinions vary. On first pass it may seem like a reasonable gift for a lover, but not a friend, but then what if your sex life has been rocky? It could be seen as patronizing. And I for one have given sex toys to friends with ease.

Can I give my wife/girlfriend/spouce a Christmas vibrator?
I would say that if your sex life is generally healthy and enjoyable for both of you, and your partner has not expressed any anti-sextoy sentiment then it’s safe to say yes. If you haven’t had sex in 3 months and it’s a point of contention in your relationship I recommend something more natural like a comfy bath robe or piece of jewelry.

Can I give sex toys to my friends?
Ok, so I have given sex toys to my (platonic) girlfriends. My best girlfriends, mind you. Usually this wasn’t a “I went out and bought you something” it was more like “I have a surplus of this thing I’m reviewing, do you want the extra?” If you’re getting sextoys for a friend keep it light. Vibrating rubber duck — sure. Extra large butt plug — let her get it for herself.

Can I get something sexy for my hot coworker?
No.

How do I pick a sex toy for someone else?
One of the reasons you should only get sextoys for people you know well is that they are hard to buy for other people. If you’re shopping for a partner, consider shopping with them. Otherwise go for something kinda cute, on the small side maybe. Alternately, consider a gift certificate and a card with a sexy promise.

Written by kinkinexile

November 27, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Posted in advice, fun stuff, sex toys

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was in Sweden over the weekend and saw ads on bus stops encouraging people to buy sex toys for Christmas! http://www.flickr.com/photos/opheliatudeaux/4144810218/

    Ophelia

    December 1, 2009 at 12:07 pm


Comments are closed.

