Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Cute bar, less cute guy

Some days I wonder what the success rate must be on bar pickup lines, and more importantly what the success rate of getting someone to sleep with you by insulting them must be.* I went to a bar tonight, and while I’m waiting for a friend the guy next to me starts talking to me:

Me: sipping new type of booze deciding if I like it silently
Him: “you have to shoot that”
Me: making eye contact “I’m not a shooting kind of gal”
Him “you are now”

And on it went — My way of drinking is wrong, my job is wrong, and the school I went to was wrong and still is. And btw can he have my number. And here I thought everyone’s mother taught them that to make friends they have to compliment the person on something neutral and engage in light non-personal conversation. Guess not.

* As soon as I wrote that I realized that I have met plenty of people who get off on being insulted. One of the chief problems I’ve had meeting submissive men is that I treat all humans as humans until other arrangements have been made leading some people to believe I am not dominant. That said, other arrangements can certainly be made after a few minutes of polite chit chat.

Written by kinkinexile

August 4, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Posted in headspace, personal

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That sounds like yet another one of those ‘Mystery Method’ pick up guys who didn’t get it bombing. They have this idea that using a backhanded insult/compliment (Nice nails- I didn’t know fake ones could look nice sort of thing) is an effective way to get your attention and make you want to get their approval.

    Honestly, it makes me want to take my drink somewhere else, but hey. What do I know.

    Wendy Blackheart

    August 5, 2010 at 8:08 am

  2. This happens to me *so* often. I am also completely perplexed.

    My current working theory is that if you have low self-esteem, this sort of insulting behavior appears to be confidence and self-assurance instead, which may be more attractive. So basically I think these people are trying to take advantage of those with low self-esteem.

    ironrose

    August 6, 2010 at 7:02 pm

  3. on a very related subject: you mean compliment not complement πŸ˜‰

    Nick

    February 22, 2012 at 12:13 pm

  4. Thanks Nick, should be fixed now.

    kinkinexile

    February 22, 2012 at 12:18 pm


Comments are closed.

