Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Thankful

Today I cleaned my house, admonishing myself for not having secured a cleaner before all the women with names that contain Js mysteriously pronounced as Hs were busy cleaning the homes of fancy ladies whose holiday planning began in August.  I wonder how my world view was impacted by my mother cleaning other women’s houses in the months when we first moved, before she learned English, defended her degree, got a job with one of the top 50 universities in the world.  I heard on the radio, on NPR, this morning that 70% of American households live paycheck to paycheck and was grateful, immensely so, for the bounty this year has brought me.  As I fought through the crowds at Trader Joe’s, and later Wholefoods, I was also grateful for the simple act of walking into a grocery store without concern for my budget.  Of buying what I wanted rather than what’s on sale, and knowing I have enough.  I am grateful not only for having enough, but for having enough to share and for being raised with an ethos that demands sharing.  Tzedakah is not a nice thing you do at Christmas time, it is your obligation to the world – there is a reason it translates not as charity, but as justice.  To borrow a sentiment from Gretchen Rubin, What you do every day is more important than what you do once in a while, and I knew that I had “made it” when I was able to give freely.

Written by kinkinexile

November 23, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Posted in headspace, personal

