Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Anyone know anything about this…?

Today I got this email

Hello Alisa,

I hope you are well.

A while back you reviewed a few products for us and put up some links to Sextoy.com.  We’d like to ask you to please remove any links to Sextoy.com including these pages-
https://kinkinexile.wordpress.com/

And, any other sponsored links you may have on your site that link to Sextoy.com, store.sextoy.com or blog.sextoy.com.
We can send you $50 via PayPal once all these links have been removed.
Please provide your PayPal email when you send us your confirmation that the links have been removed.

Getting these links down as soon as possible is a priority.  Your help with removing these links is much appreciated.

Thank you,
[Retracted]

Er, 6 years worth of blog posts, that’s how much I’d have to dig through to find individual links and remove them.  WTF?

EDIT: Oh, and also, every sextoy.com review I’ve put up over the years had been approved by the person who sent this email and checking link integrity was part of the approval process.  Just sayin’.

Written by kinkinexile

October 10, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This doesn’t pass the smell test with me. $50 to take down non-specified links? Nope. I wouldn’t do it. Even if they sent links directly to the pages in question.

    Tomio Hall-Black

    October 10, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    • Tomio, exactly. My bill rate is significantly higher than $50/hour, I have no idea how long this will take, and I have better things to do with my time than remove links from 6 years of buried posts.

      If there were one or two specific pages I’d remove links as a courtesy, but I don’t think they realize the hassle they’re causing without any explanation.

      kinkinexile

      October 10, 2012 at 3:30 pm

  2. Proactive request for paypal info? Smells like phishing to me. Check the header carefully.

    Erica

    October 10, 2012 at 4:39 pm

  3. Spam from a competitor? Trying to reduce their search engine ranking? Still hard to see it being worth their trouble.

    Alan

    October 10, 2012 at 6:32 pm

  4. This definitely sounds phishy, and if you’ve got the wherewithal it might be worth confirming its validity. However, (at least theoretically? Seems Google’s not as big a fan of your blog as I am…) you can easily find all of your posts that link anywhere to their site using a few advanced Google search operators.

    maymay

    October 11, 2012 at 12:48 am

  5. So from follow-up emails it appears the links I was previously instructed to include in reviews violate some sort of google sponsored link policy and fuss with page rank. …And I still don’t have time to fix this manually. Maymay, the “inurl” might be throwing you off? Try “site:kinkinexile.wordpress.com link:sextoys.com”.

    kinkinexile

    October 11, 2012 at 8:36 am


Comments are closed.

