Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Snapshot of gratitude

I’m having a quiet moment after happy hour oysters with a childhood friend, after curling up in a cafe with a good book, after paying the bills with enough left over for things I care about, where I am overwhelmed with gratitude for my lovers and for the the little ways in which they, each of them, allow me to have just a little more bandwidth for the life I want to live.

I am grateful for the email I didn’t have to answer because he knew how to give me permission to delete things.  I am grateful for the logistics they’re taking off my plate because they realized before I did that I needed a break.  I’m grateful for how the both of them remind me of my core and bring me back there.  I am grateful for this even when core to me is incompatible with their lives.

It’s funny when you realize how much you’ve learned from your past relationships and that for all the little hiccups, they didn’t work primarily because you were not yet grounded in yourself.

 

Written by kinkinexile

November 5, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Posted in headspace

