Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Being the subject of loving kindness

Recently, I flew into my home town a day earlier than I had to and I saw my grandmother. That same evening I had plans to meet up with some friends, and while I was getting dressed for that, I asked my grandmother if she minded that I was running off before she had to leave for something else.

“No, just the opposite, I’m happy for you. I’m happy that you have someone to run off with, and that you’re happy.” Her response caught me off guard. I didn’t expect her to mind, but I also didn’t expect to feel so fully and unconditionally loved.

When we say that love and attachment are different, that love is about the person you love and attachment is about you, that love is easy and attachment is based in fear, it’s this. This is what we mean. This is the feeling I’ve tried to cultivate in myself toward the people I love when I remind myself that if they need Not Me (or Not Right Now) to be happy, and I love them, then that is the good and wonderful thing I wish for them.

It’s love without fear, without drama, without the evaluation of whether you’ll  be loved in return. From the woman who taught me how to love, of course.

Written by kinkinexile

August 4, 2013 at 1:04 am

Posted in personal

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just Beautiful. To Love All With An Open Heart.

    astraltravler

    August 18, 2013 at 10:45 am


Comments are closed.

