Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Rules rules rules

Last night I was reading some blogs and came across Not Just Bitchy’s No Wrong Way to Do Kink.  Yes, I’m sure regular readers are now thinking, “oh no, a long rant about all the wrong ways to do kink!” But no, I need a break, so instead I wanted to talk about point 5:

5. Giving up control or giving out rules before your partner has earned it. It’s great to have a new sub who says he’ll do whatever you say and is excited about being given new rules, but what’s going to happen when he has to actually live with all those rules? Or when you have to remember all of them and catch it if he messes up? I don’t actually have a huge amount of experience with d/s, but I’m pretty sure that’s more likely to be overwhelming and a huge pain in the ass than fun and satisfying.

I love this because rules – how to make them, what happens when they’re broken, etc – is something I spend a lot of time thinking about.  I love rules.  I love having a question and being able to find a policy about it – I enjoy tax season! – but more importantly for this post, I kink on rules.  I like making arbitrary-seeming proclamations and having you obey them because we both get off on it.  It’s hot.  But it’s bedroom hot – like the pirate thing, I’m not a pirate when I’m at work, and obviously you don’t have to kneel, naked, at all times at work.

But rules are also hard.  When I make an arbitrary proclamation, I trust you to go along with it and engage in shared story telling with me.  And I trust you to indicate to me that a rule is hitting a boundary when that happens, also.   I balance the hotness of a rule against the practicality and against my willingness or ability to enforce it.

Take for example one of my long-time fantasies: to know every single time you’re aroused and to know what you fantasize about while you masturbate (with my permission).  It’s like NSA meets alien mind probe but more hot and less civil rights violation across the land.  It’s hot because it’s exposing and I love the idea of you exposed, of having that much access, and of the fact that, yeah, that’s probably going to be slightly embarrassing for most people.

Now imagine I’m at work and I’m in the middle of a client meeting, and my phone buzzes with a notification that you’re fantasizing about being molested by alien tentacle monsters at my command.  That’s not hot, that’s distracting.  Maybe you think it’s hot, and in fantasy land it is, but in reality I’d be annoyed.  So that’s a great bedroom rule, but not a reasonable real rule.

Then there are other people’s rules: you can only wear socks in my favorite color.  Sure, ok, if you kink on that, but…why?  I like making arbitrary rules, but only about things I care about…your orgasms for example, or how you share information with me.  If I hate your socks, I’d tell you I suppose, but I simply can’t imagine caring.  And then I’d have to keep track.  There’d be a spreadsheet on my computer labeled “Rules, do not forget” where I would dutifully record the date, the proclamation on socks, and your response.  Neat little columns.  What happens when you wear the wrong sock color? Do you lose socks for the week?  Have to wear extra socks? Are there naughty boy socks one can buy at specialty shops?

I think I wanted to write something about building rules and responses to them together, about kink as shared creation, and about how we communicate subtly and overtly, but you know what?  Tentacle monsters.  I’ll be in my bunk.

Written by kinkinexile

August 20, 2013 at 10:35 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tentacle monsters. I’ll be in my bunk.

    Yeah, that’s about the point whe3re I stopped paying attention, too.

    Tom Allen

    August 21, 2013 at 9:29 am

  2. Then there are other people’s rules: you can only wear socks in my favorite color. Sure, ok, if you kink on that, but…why?</blockquote

    Heh, my thoughts exactly. For the longest time it never occurred to me that I got to make up my own rules, so I thought rules in general were boring stuff about slave positions that were a chore to learn.

    my phone buzzes with a notification that you’re fantasizing about being molested by alien tentacle monsters at my command.

    It took a few tries to get past that part and read the rest of your post. For some reason I kept getting distracted 🙂 Mmm, tentacle monsters and voyeurism.

    Stabbity

    August 27, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    • Heehee, seems like the tentacle monsters were pretty distracting!

      kinkinexile

      August 27, 2013 at 11:20 pm

      • Speaking of tentacles, the filthy amphibian has a tumblr now and it’s fantastic 🙂 I just found it and thought you might appreciate it.

        Stabbity

        August 28, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    • Started a reply, then followed the tumblr link…uh, back in a moment

      paganboy

      August 30, 2013 at 2:40 pm


Comments are closed.

