Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Hello world.

So a lot of things have happened.  I moved cross country for example.  And I lost someone I knew.  And it was the anniversary of Aaron Swartzdeath yesterday.

I wrote a ton about suicide, but I put it all in a notebook I can’t find because I moved cross country.  The piece I remember best is this idea of concentric circles of grief.  I did not get to mourn, in a direct sorta way, for Conor.  I got to hold his daughter and wash dishes for the person who was not washing dishes because she was talking to his widow.  And because I was washing dishes for the person who was talking to his widow my friends finished my packing for me, and so it went in ever expanding circles of impact.  I held the people I love.  The person I was most worried for called me and we sat on the phone silent, him in Philadelphia and me in Maui, unsure if the other knew, not wanting to be the first to say.

Someone wrote a behind the scenes piece about how depression is a disease and most of us aren’t doctors, which I read, and reread, and watched my friends read.  We shared lists of mental health resources with the people who were left who probably weren’t the people who needed them.  I tried, and probably failed, to not ask personal questions – tried to give Conor and his family the privacy and dignity they deserve.  I thanked the person who came over when I was at my lowest, and reflected on how very lucky I was to pull out from depression.  I had a fight with an ex about the nature of suicide and how I relate to it.  I had a fight with an ex who thought I was wishing it away, when I was, sadly, preparing for it to happen again.

I moved my stuff, and carried boxes, and rebuilt furniture, and missed – and still miss – my tribe.

Written by kinkinexile

January 12, 2014 at 12:28 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear K.I.E.,
    I’m So Very Sorry for Your Loss of Conor. And it also being the Anniversary of Aaron Swartz passing.
    On top of moving which is stressful enough.
    I only clicked the “like” for statistics, there is nothing to like about your sadness. I’m pleased that You Expressed Your Feelings by writing.
    Sending You Love & Light My Friend,
    Anastasia

    astraltravler

    January 12, 2014 at 4:28 pm


Comments are closed.

