Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Stable core, vulnerable heart

leave a comment »

I went to yoga tonight and we were in lunges, bending into our front knees, figuring out where our stomachs and pelvises were, raising hands over head, pushing shoulders down, opening heart – “Stable core, vulnerable heart.”  Basic, physical advice on holding the pose and not falling over and also the biggest coolest thing I learned about myself over the years.

I used to think that lovingkindness had a lot in common with doormat.  You can see how I’d make the mistake, what with talk of forgiving and letting go.  I had a yoga teacher in 2006 who told me if enlightenment was what I’d described it as – people wandering about unattached to anything or anyone, unwilling to stand up for themselves or have their needs met – we’d have enlightenment wards in the hospitals.

No, it turns out lovingkindness, vulnerability, whatever you want to call it, is something I find at the end of a lot of work.  It’s something I’m still easily knocked out of, if I’m scared for example, or stressed, I have to remind myself and sometimes I forget to remind myself 🙂 But it turns out that vulnerability is actually born out of learning how to create safe, stable, sustainable core spaces in my life.  It’s not in lieu of having my needs met, it’s not about putting other people’s needs first, it’s about feeling grounded enough that if I swap someone else into the center of my universe it doesn’t negate my feelings or remove my ability to have my needs met.

Maybe it’s a type of feeling whole.  I don’t know.  It feels really new still…like when you almost but not quite yet understand a math problem.

Written by kinkinexile

June 9, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Posted in headspace

Leave a Reply

