Kink in exile

Notes from a kinky nomad

Seasons turning

 

photo(4)

 

I’m drinking cider, must be Fall, though I did get to the beach today.

I haven’t logged into this blog in a couple months, so imagine my surprise when I log in and realize people are still reading.  I love the Internet because it lets us share knowledge and confirm that whatever is on our minds in a common experience.  Apparently the knowledge y’all are looking to me for is all about chastity :-p

Anyway, if you’ve been waiting for a comment to be approved I’m sorry for the delay, and thank you for your kind words.  If you’re looking for an update, here’s what I was going to post…

Moments of delight

I had to buy stamps today so I could do such uncreative things as mail my rent check.  So I’m at the post office, and I’m sort of bored by the whole process, and then, circus stamps!  Vintage circus posters in different styles and sizes in miniature stamp form.  How cool is that?!

In the design world we talk a lot about unexpected moments of delight, and I love that about design.  But in other parts of my world, in non-profit efforts or in tech-forward hacking efforts we talk about functionality and assert that style isn’t important.  Not bad, just not important, and with resource constraints being what they are…

But what’s more resource constrained than the USPS?  They even have a relative monopoly on the market – sure you can send an email, but if you want to get a physical paper from one place to another cheaply you probably need a stamp.  And once you need a stamp, you can’t buy a stamp from a competitive post office, so arguably you’re going to take what the post office gives you.  There is no need for them to delight you with beautiful and well considered stamps.  But someone made the effort.  Someone selected just the right posters, and probably figured out the technical difficulties with having machines cut, and later read, varying sizes of stamps where a single size may have been easier.  All for this moment of unexpected delight.  Thanks USPS.

But somehow knowing someone’s reading ups the ante.  I don’t really have much to report.  Life’s pretty awesome *knocks on wood* and I am, as you last left me, on the seasonally temperamental coast, earth-shatteringly in love with the Internet and the Universe.

Written by kinkinexile

October 5, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Posted in headspace

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is like, such an amazing post, since I work for the Postal Service LOL! We get a bad rep but it’s nice to see someone taking note of something positive, well done! First class letters are certainly way in decline (remember how exciting it was to get mail when you were a kid?) But I would buy the commemorative stamps as novelties (people apparently collect stamps like coins!) and buy a book of “forever” stamps to throw in your desk for sending mail. (that way you don’t have to worry if the stamp price has changed 🙂
    Hah well I know this is lame but it’s kinda cool to just get back from work and randomly get an email about your blog..I must revisit and catch up on your threads.
    ❤ Yours truly, from Brooklyn NY

    Will

    October 5, 2014 at 10:05 pm

    • Oh hey! Sorry it took me forever to approve your comment, but that’s so cool that you work for the USPS.

      kinkinexile

      October 15, 2014 at 7:26 pm


Comments are closed.

